Lady Bug LifeCycle

Let’s learn about a lady bug lifecycle, stages of ladybug metamorphosis, classification of lady beetles, and few interesting facts about ladybug.
lady bug lifecycle

Common Name: Ladybugs
Scientific Name: Coccinellidae
Type: Invertebrates
Diet: Omnivore
Average Life Span: 2-3 years
Size: 0.3 to 0.4 inches

The ladybug, also known as a lady beetle or ladybird beetle, goes through FOUR stages of life. This process is called metamorphosis (it changes and grows at each stage). Many other insects, such as butterflies, moths, and mosquitoes, undergo metamorphosis. There are four stages of ladybug metamorphosis.

4 Stages of Lady Bug LifeCycle

  1. EGG
  2. LARVA
  3. PUPA
  4. ADULT

EGG: This is the FIRST stage of a ladybug’s life cycle. The female ladybug lays fertilized eggs, usually on the leaves or stems of plants. The eggs are very tiny and may be in different shapes, like spherical, oval, or cylindrical. The eggs are usually laid in clusters and are yellow or orange in color.

LARVA: The larva that hatches from the egg is the SECOND stage of the life cycle of the ladybug. The plural for larva is called LARVAE.

At this stage, the hard outer layer of the ladybug, called the EXOSKELETON, is removed. This process of exoskeleton removal is also called MOLTING.

In simple words, molting means shedding outgrown skin.

Ladybug larvae look like tiny alligators. They have elongated bodies and bumpy exoskeletons.

A larva’s main activity is EATING. They primarily feed on tiny mites, aphids, and other small insects.

Before going to the third stage of life, larvae increase their body mass by many times their birth size. The step-by-step development of larvae that occurs between molts is called the instar. Ladybug larvae usually molt through four instars before entering the pupa stage.

PUPA: The pupa is the THIRD stage of the ladybug life cycle. During this stage, the old body parts of the pupa go through an incredible change called Metamorphosis. They remain still, attached to a leaf, throughout this stage and change into their final stage as an adult ladybug. This stage lasts between 7-15 days.
ADULT: The adult ladybug is the FOURTH and final stage of the life cycle of a ladybug. At this stage, they first look soft and yellow or very pale, but after a few hours, they gain pigments that give them the deep, bright colors and spots for which ladybugs are known.

What Do Ladybugs Eat?

The most common insects that ladybugs eat are aphids and other soft-bodied insects. Gardeners love them because they eat some of the serious pest of plants

What is the classification of Lady Bug?

Kingdom – Animalia
Phylum – Arthropoda
Class – Insecta
Order – Coleoptera
Family – Coccinellidae

Why Do Ladybugs Have Spots?

Ladybugs have spots for several reasons, such as camouflage when they’re in hibernation, warning predators about their bad taste and toxins, communication during their mating season, and thermoregulation. More about lady bug lifecycle.

Scroll to Top